Menu
Home Page
‘Successful learning in a happy environment’
Stratton Primary School, Stratton - Welcome to Our New School Website!
‘Successful learning in a happy environment’
Home Page

Year R/1: Sweet Chestnut, Horse Chestnut, Maple

Teacher email addresses:

 

Mrs Harris - Sweet Chestnut 

merrynharris@stratton.cornwall.sch.uk

 

Mrs Reay and Mrs Baker - Horse Chestnut

naomireay@stratton.cornwall.sch.uk

lesleybaker@stratton.cornwall.sch.uk

 

Mrs Flack - Maple

claireflack@stratton.cornwall.sch.uk

 

Reception and Year 1 Weekly Update

Friday 23rd July 2021


Dear Parents/Carers,


This week we have enjoyed a more relaxed timetable of learning. We have been trying to keep cool by staying inside or in the shade outside.
The children enjoyed an end of year ice lolly treat today, and we also had a chance to finally open the slide!


Tapestry
Your child’s tapestry learning journal is coming to an end as we will not be using tapestry in Year 1 and Year 2 next year. You can now download your child’s learning journal to keep at home. This will be available for you to download up until 18th October, after this date your account will be deleted and all observations will be lost so please make sure you download it! You need to log in to Tapestry and look for ‘download pdf report’. If you have any problems with this, then please notify the school office in September.


Maths
Both year groups have been completing a Summer Activity week. They have been solving problems using a range of maths skills, all with a summer theme.


Books
We are still missing some library books that have been borrowed this year and haven’t yet found their way back to school. If you find any during the summer holiday then please return them to your next teacher in September. Thank you.


Summer reading
We know that lots of home reading has been happening this year. It is very important that your child continues to read regularly over the summer holidays. To take part and register, please pop down to Bude Library and Information Service. We are open Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 – 4 and on Saturdays 10 – 1.00
It is advisable to book a slot by sending us a message via our Facebook page Bude Library and Information Service | Facebook or emailing us at bude.library@liscornwall.org.uk
We are hoping to run outdoor activities during the summer holidays, keep an eye on our Facebook page for more details.
Happy Reading Everyone

 

Thank you all so much for supporting your child with their learning during this very unusual year! Have a lovely summer.


The YR/1 team


 

Learning for Day 1 of Isolation

 

Here are some activities for your child to complete on their first day of isolation.

Please only do this with your child if they are well enough to do so. Thank you!

 

Work for absent pupils due to isolation

If your child is off for more than one day, your class teacher will be in contact.

 

  • Reading – Please hear your child read or read a story to them. YR could practise their Read Write Inc. flashcards

      

  • Physical activity (eg Joe Wicks/cosmic yoga)

 

  • Year 1 maths

 

Play NumBots

 

Play a board game together

Choose from the following games:

 

Mental Maths Train: https://www.topmarks.co.uk/maths-games/mental-maths-train

Caterpillar Ordering  https://www.topmarks.co.uk/ordering-and-sequencing/caterpillar-ordering

Helicopter Rescue https://www.topmarks.co.uk/learning-to-count/helicopter-rescue

 

  • Year R maths

Play a game together.

Choose from the following games:

Teddy Numbers https://www.topmarks.co.uk/learning-to-count/teddy-numbers

Underwater Counting  https://www.topmarks.co.uk/learning-to-count/underwater-counting

Ladybird Spots   https://www.topmarks.co.uk/learning-to-count/ladybird-spots

 

Thank you

YR/1 team

Keeping Safe Posters (made by each class).

We've had 1 5 2 0 0 2 Visitors
Top